Thursday, October 29, 2009

Vote No On Confucius

House Resolution 784, "Honoring the 2560th anniversary of the birth of Confucius and recognizing his invaluable contributions to philosophy and social and political thought" turned out to be controversial for 60 different House members.

While 361 voted "Yes" - 47 voted against the resolution, and another 13 members voted "Present."

Democrats split 234-12-2 on Confucius and his legacy, while Republicans voted 127-35-11 on it. Here is a list of the 47 "Nays".

Akin (R-MO), Altmire (D-PA), Barton (R-TX), Berry (D-AR), Boccieri (D-OH), Broun (R-GA), Burgess (R-TX), Camp (R-MI), Carter (R-TX), Chaffetz (R-UT), Conaway (R-TX), Davis (R-KY), Davis (D-TN), Driehaus (D-OH), Ellsworth (D-IN), Emerson (R-MO), Flake (R-AZ), Fleming (R-LA), Graves (R-MO), Hoekstra (R-MI), Johnson (R-IL), Johnson (R-TX), Jordan (R-OH), LaTourette (R-OH), Latta (R-OH), Marchant (R-TX), Massa (D-NY), Matheson (D-UT), Mica (R-FL), Miller (R-FL), Platts (R-NE), Poe (R-TX), Radanovich (R-CA), Sensenbrenner (R-WI), Shadegg (R-AZ), Shimkus (R-IL), Simpson (R-ID), Skelton (D-MO), Souder (R-IN), Space (D-OH), Taylor (D-MS), Tiberi (R-OH), Walden (R-OR), Westmoreland (R-GA), Wilson (D-OH), Young (R-AK) and Young (R-FL).

That's a lot of "No" votes, considering that no one spoke against the resolution during debate on Tuesday.

Confucius wasn't very popular in the state of Ohio, where eight members of that state's delegation voted against the resolution. That is almost half of the state's 18 members in the U.S. House.

No comments:

Post a Comment